Image
2

Oops Files: Pink Sequin Dress

A few weeks ago, I showed you these capris.

American Girl doll clothes capris

These are filed under “Oops Files” because they were planned as one thing (pants) and turned into something else (capris). The “oops” factor was that I made them too short. They are fine as capris – but not what I had planned.

Today, in the Oops Files,  I present this little sheath with sequin bodice and ruffle trim.

American Girl doll clothes doll dress
It’s a cute dress and it looks great on our doll. It’s not going to fall apart or anything, but there are definitely a couple of “oops” here.
First, what I like about the dress. I like that it’s a great fit and very easy to put on and take off. I love the sequin bodice.
American Girl doll clothes
So, where’s the “oops” factor you say?
First of all, it was supposed to be a bubble dress. It has a bubble hem but I didn’t use near enough fabric to make it actually “bubble”. So, now it just kind of looks like there’s something wrong with the hem – if you really look.
Second, the back. I’m not sure how I did it, but somehow in sewing on the Velcro the back got all wonky on me.
American Girl doll clothes
Especially at the bottom.
"American
ARGHHGHH!!!! But as many of us know, we learn so much from our mistakes. So, hopefully, I won’ make pants too short again, I’ll use the right amount of fabric next time, and I’ll figure out how to get the closure to look better while still functioning.

I’m not too embarrassed to share my mistakes! How about you?

2 thoughts on “Oops Files: Pink Sequin Dress

    • Haha! Thanks, Jane. It’s nice to know I’m not the only one. I have also heard from several others (on my Facebook) page saying the same thing. One even named hers the Bin of Shame.
      – Dawn

      Like

I love hearing from you, so please feel free to comment.

