Image
0

Readers’ Request – Kanzashi Flower Tutorial from Summer Outfit in Blue & White

Thank you, Doll Things readers, for this suggestion.

One of the most fun parts of making doll clothes is adding the final touches to the outfit.
American Girl doll clothes

Click on the image to enlarge to see the Kanzashi flower up close.

This Summer Outfit in Blue & White (read more about that here if you like) featured a little Kanzashi flower that I made for the bodice of the dress.

Several of you asked for a tutorial on how I made the flower.

Your wish is my command! 🙂

This link will take you to a Youtube instructional video that shows exactly how to make this beautiful flower that can be used on clothing, hats, bags, and even packages. (Note: This is not my video; it’s just a link to one I found.)

Once you get to this page you’ll see there are tons of other videos as well and you might want to look at as some of those.

For my particular flower,
– I did alternating petals in blue & plaid
– Added white satin ribbon – just in a loop
– Added a small white flower with a blue crystal center to the middle of the flower
Everything is sewn on, including the flower, which is no meant to be removed.

Thanks again to my wonderful readers for this suggestion, and I will continue to provide additional information whenever you ask – so please ask! 

(And yes, I’m working on a pattern for the reversible vest)

I love hearing from you, so please feel free to comment.

