Image
1

Designing for Dolls: The Karen Dress

I finished this dress just in time to give to my granddaughter for her birthday. She loves it and I finally got it away from her long enough to take pictures.
I call it The Karen Dress.

American Girl doll dress

The Karen Dress

It’s really a simple bodice with short sleeves and a gathered skirt.
What I did differently this time is how I attached the bodice to the skirt. I actually sewed the skirt onto the right side of the bodice. (Instead of right sides together, I sewed the wrong side of the skirt to the right side of the bodice.)
I turned the ends so there wouldnt be a raw edge.
I attached two snaps to the back for closure.

The little embellishment on the shoulder is just fabric strips.

American Girl doll dress

The skirt was turned under at the edge and sewed on to the right side of the bodice. The “flower” is fabric strips.

American Girl doll dress

Two snaps in back for closure and to make it easy to put on the doll.

Pleated head band

I love how the headband turned out. To make it, I made a tube of fabric then pleated it, sewing down the pleats. Then I made another tube and sandwiched a pony tail holder between the two tubes.American Girl doll dress doll headband

The little espadrilles are so cute! I need to improve on my pattern for those. These are a little loose and the toe part needs to be just a tad longer (so her toes don’t show at all).  I used this tutorial to make the soles out of string. That was fun!

American Girl doll shoes espadrilles

Matching espadrilles.

American Girl doll shoes espadrilles

Soles made from string and glue

So what do you think of The Karen Dress?

American Girl doll dress

Bye for now!

One thought on “Designing for Dolls: The Karen Dress

I love hearing from you, so please feel free to comment.

