Image
0

Let’s Make a Salon Hair Styling Cape for Your Doll

I’ve seen various versions of salon capes for American Girl dolls, so I thought it would be fun to macape92ke one.
I’ve included links to several tutorials at the end of this post, which go into way more detail than I do here.
I didn’t follow any one of these exactly, but they gave me a good idea of what to do.

Here’s how I made mine:

Mine started out as this bag that was provided to participants in a recent sporting event. Nylon backpack style bag. Looks perfect since you want a fabric with a washable surface – just like real salon cape.

doll hair salon cape

First I de-constructed the bag. Cut both side seams and removed the blue cording. Bonus! I ended up with about 4 yards of this really nice cord!
The piece I had left remaining was bout 14″ x 18″, roughly. Next steps:

  • Find and mark center of fabric
  • Cut a straight line from the center out to the end, long-ways (is that a word?)
  • Cut a hole about 2″ across at the center for neckline.
  • I wanted my cape to be round so I folded the piece in half, then half again, and cut an arc at the bottom .
  • Use ribbon, bias tape, or whatever you have to trim the raw edges all the way around.  I used some vintage floral ribbon that I had on hand.  7/8″ cotton ribbon that was very, very stiff! A little tricky to work with, but I got through it. I decided to glue my ribbon on. You could also sew it if you wanted. I folded the ribbon in half, then glued it to both sides of the edges all the way around.
  • Attach Velcro or other means to close the cape.

cape2cape3
cape3

cape5

cape6
And here it is! Celine is getting her tips highlighted!
Pretend only. I would never dye or bleach her hair.
Pretty cool, huh?
cape91cape8cape9

Here are some links to other tutorials I found doing a quick search. Hope you can find one that’s right for you.  If you make one, I’d LOVE to see it!

All Things With Purposeamerican girl doll salon cape

Doll Clothes Patterns

Carole’s Corner of Crafts

Lil Blue Boo

I love hearing from you, so please feel free to comment.

